Skip to content

August 5th Meeting and possible discussion topic

July 26, 2011

Hello Everyone,

I apologize for being incommunicado for quite some time, I have been busy starting my dual degree in bioethics; which I mention; not just for an excuse for my lack of posting, because it will play a role later in the post.

First I want to remind everyone that are meeting is coming up in less than two weeks time and I look forward to seeing everybody there.

Second, for my bioethics program, my class visited a local lab that was doing research on brain computer interfaces and I got to see one in action and an offer to be a research participant. I decided to do research on buying one for my own use but the cost was a little steep; the cheapest was $499 and the most expensive was $4500. But never fear, there is an opensource project page for that: http://openeeg.sourceforge.net.

I thought that this would be a really cool project to at least discuss at one of our meetings. It seems relatively cheap to build; at least compared to the commercial ones and it would be fun as well.

As I mentioned in my other posts, this group is for all of the attendees so if you have an idea for a topic you would like to discuss or a project that you think would be cool to try to build, please bring them along.

See you on Friday, August 5, between 5pm and whenever we want to leave; at Borders in Crossgates Mall, upper level.

 

–Tim

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

